A team from Ossining High School is Westchester’s highest scoring team in this year’s Hudson Valley Regional Envirothon, held on April 14 at the Sharpe Reservation in Fishkill, N.Y. The primary goal of the Envirothon is to encourage students to learn about the natural environment and to become good stewards of the land. The teams, each made up of five students, are tested on their knowledge of five environmental topics: soils, aquatics, forestry and wildlife and on a current environmental issue. This year’s issue was “Invasive Species.”

For the past eight years, Westchester had more teams competing at the regional Envirothon than any other county. Each competing high school may enter up to two teams. Of the 21 teams participating in the 2016 Envirothon from high schools in the Hudson Valley region, Ossining’s Team 10 ranked third in the competition; two teams from The Mount Academy in Ulster County placed first and second. Among the Westchester County schools, Ossining’s Team 10, led by teacher Valerie Holmes, ranked first; John Jay High School’s Team 12, from the Katonah-Lewisboro School District, placed second; and Ossining High School’s Team 9 placed third.

In preparation for the Envirothon students develop research skills, practice team building and gain an appreciation for consensus decision making.

Eight teams from five Westchester schools participated:

  • John Jay High School (two teams), Katonah-Lewisboro School District
  • Ossining High School (two teams), Ossining Union Free School District
  • Yorktown High School (two teams), Yorktown Central School District
  • Woodlands High School, Greenburgh Central School District
  • Walter Panas High School, Lakeland Central School District

On May 25-26, the highest scoring team from each county will compete in the New York State Envirothon at Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, N.Y. Westchester County’s Department of Planning and the Soil and Water Conservation District co-sponsored the Hudson Valley regional competition and will co-sponsor Ossining High Schools’ participation in the New York State competition.

PHOTO: The Ossining Team 10 (left to right): Artie Carlucci (Advisor), YooShin Tanai, Sade Tukuru, Oliver Krupinski, Jennifer Meikle, and Charlotte Keeley.